Rue Sainte-Catherine Bordeaux

The east-west axis formed by the stone bridge, the only crossing of the Garonne from the old town and Victor Hugo, cut the old Bordeaux in a northern part, richer, and a poorer southern area.  In the northwest quarter of the Old City (district Quinconces and City Hall), are restaurants, cafes, banks, providers of financial services and luxury shops. In the north-west lies the “Golden Triangle” of Bordeaux.

This area, whose shape is almost an equilateral triangle defined by cours Clemenceau, the Quartermaster and alleys of Tourny, is considered a showcase of luxury Bordeaux.  In 1789, the current “Golden Triangle” area was a convent, but during the Revolution, the church property was requisitioned and the city was in possession of large vacant tracts.  In 1790 the architect Chalifour proposed a plan to reorganize the district, with a central square (Place des Grands-Hommes) and radiating streets.

Work began in 1792 but was interrupted by the terror and not resumed until 1797. The streets were named after the great minds that have inspired the French Revolution (Montesquieu, Rousseau and Voltaire).  Nowadays, the course of the Quartermaster was refurbished and became pedestrian areas.  With the arrival of the tram, one can admire the facades of the eighteenth and nineteenth century buildings of luxury.

In the north-east (Saint-Pierre and Saint-Eloi), there are many restaurants, hotels and bistros.  Along the Garonne quays there has been a full redevelopment since the arrival of the tram. The development of the east side of town, facing the river began in the eighteenth century. The aim was to give a good impression for travellers arriving on the River.  Place de la Bourse, formerly the Place Royale, was inaugurated in 1755.

The southwestern part of the old city (around Victory Square) is characterized by the presence of many students. The area is indeed close to a part of the University of Bordeaux and is also well served by public transport towards the academic field (including the tram line B).

This area is also home of the middle class. Finally, the south-east of downtown (around the Capuchins of St. Michael and St. Croix) is a place of residence for people with lower incomes (elderly, workers, unemployed and immigrants).  It is also in this sector of the city that the Gare Saint-Jean lies, built in the nineteenth century. The historic center has been a World Heritage of UNESCO since June 2007.

Notre Dame in the district Chartrons

Outside the city walls of the suburbs, current prices have emerged. Today these suburbs are between courses and boulevards surrounding the old city. Despite a few exceptions, the development of these neighborhoods has been made similarly. To the north, along the Garonne, are neighborhoods of Grand Park and Chartrons. These neighborhoods were home to many wine merchants.  The Intendant Tourny has linked the city with a walk (during the current Arnozan-Xavier), and a large driveway (the current price of Verdun), and built lavish homes of Louis XV style by brothers Laclotte, and the garden. The current renovation of the docks district and the arrival of the tram B in this area have resulted in a significant increase in property prices.

Until the 1980s, the docks were Chartrons at the heart of the Bordeaux wine trade, in the 1990s, the port of Bordeaux, having previously moved to the Verdon, transferred their operations to outside the city on larger areas and more modern premises that these splendid buildings of the eighteenth century had occupied previously.

That’s when this neighborhood began specializing in art in all its forms: crafts; cabinet makers; restorers; spin doctors; woodcarving; antique shops; flea markets; art galleries; CAPC; and artist workshops.  The area of Grand Park, north of Saint-Seurin, meanwhile, is very different.

The Saint-Seurin, named after the basilica Saint-Seurin, is located north-west and built around the Palais Gallien.  This district and the district Chartrons welcome many consulates